Getting it right.

This is part two of a two part series leading up to the next “INTERSECTION” service on 4th November. These two blogs will be related to this month’s topic which is called “Sexism, racism & Homophobia: Is the Church always right and what happens if I disagree?” For more information on Intersection, visit the Shore Vineyards website here

I have wrestled over what to post this week. The question “is the church always right?” Is a tough one because in as much as I believe Jesus is the Way , the Truth and the Life, I also see a lot of churches preach things I find pretty unsavory. So this week I decided to instead post a picture for you to reflect on. Enjoy.

One thought on “Getting it right.

  1. Very tricky and swamp ridden road to travel, but don’t flinch Calvin, it’s worth the journey. What ever position you take, or decision you come to on any of those and other fraught questions you take on, you’re bound to be misunderstood and even, dare I say it, misrepresented.
    Some issues are very clear, but others, such as homophobia (which is different to discussing where homosexual people fit in the church) can get you into trouble, almost for daring to raise problems about it.
    Been there and caused some surprises and some dismay on both sides of the fence. Because I was standing against such people being ordained as Pastors it was assumed I had closed our doors to gay and lesbian people, when in fact a number were regulars at our theologically conservative congregation. A couple of lesbian friends told me I’d betrayed them, whereas some of my congregation said I’d gone soft on the issue. Never was resolved, though the g/l people stayed with us.
    Just trying discussing the environment and global climate change in a Presbyterian Church and see how many Ian Wishart disciples emerge – same with Maori land justice issues as well.
    Blessings and peace
    Pete

Leave a Reply

