An eternity I want to be a part of, now

This is part four (point two) of a four part series leading up to the next “INTERSECTION” service on 2nd September. These four blogs will be related to this month’s topic which is called “What comes next?: Exploring Heaven, Hell, and everything in between.” For more information on Intersection, visit the Shore Vineyards website here

I am excited that the guest blogger is my youth intern for the year, Cassey Locke

When I was younger I used to believe that heaven was a place I would go to when I died.

I would be magically transported to a new realm where I could do all my favourite things.

There would be no pain or tears, so naturally, faced with a cliff one could merely jump without hesitation and land safely on the ground – almost like flying!

My favourite idea was that I would be able to ride a lion or a polar bear, or any other ferocious beast for that matter, because of course; “the lion will lay down with the lamb”.

So all I had to do was wait out my life here on Earth…

But is that really all there is to it?

Would God create a planet we would eventually be whisked away from?

Won’t I get bored, here on Earth, where flying is impossible?

As I wrestled with some of these questions, I was hit with the idea that eternal life might start now.

Perhaps God doesn’t want to throw away the Earth, and instead has all along had a bigger plan for us – a plan to restore not to demolish. This would make more sense, surely?

In that case, I have a responsibility to uphold.

To be a part of assisting in the establishment of God’s Kingdom on Earth.

To pray as Jesus did; “your Kingdom come, your will be done on Earth as it is in heaven”.

The more I explore, the more it seems I may have been wrong.

But the more I want to be in on God’s eternity, now.

Leave a Reply

