Heaven, Hitler, and a whole lot of “what if’s?”

This is part two of a four part series leading up to the next “INTERSECTION” service on 2nd September. These four blogs will be related to this month’s topic which is called “What comes next?: Exploring Heaven, Hell, and everything in between.” For more information on Intersection, visit the Shore Vineyards website here

This blog might be less of a thought, and more of a question. It isn’t there to present something wild and different, and it isn’t about Christians and non-Christians/in and out /us and them.

This is about you, and God’s grace.

So, let me ask you.

What if Hitler is in Heaven?

It is a question that arose for me last year, and I found myself journeying through some interesting thoughts and emotions as I grappled with it.

What would my response be? Would I get angry? Would I be furious that this man (if he deserves the title of “human”) who committed mass genocide is now spending an eternity in the loving embrace of our Lord and Saviour?

Perhaps I may even find myself angry at God for affording Hitler the same graces that are extended to me. Because, if I am honest, I consider myself a better person than Hitler – and, unlike Hitler, I know for sure I said my little salvation prayer!

Or would I be tempted to worship God even more than I ordinarily would, in awe of his amazing grace?

As I wrestled with some of these things, I found myself faced with a much, much bigger question.

What do my thoughts and feelings on this subject reveal about my own sense of entitlement to God’s grace?

We can have ideas, inklings, hunches and theologies about what happens when we die – we can even be fully convinced that what we believe is true – but that will never change the fact that God’s grace is His alone. We cannot earn it, we are not entitled to it. It is the Lord’s gift to freely extend in love and mercy as He sees fit.

Far be it from me to publicly define the parameters of grace extended by the all loving, all powerful, all knowing God that is our Creator, King, Friend and Saviour.

And with that, I would like to leave this blog in the most open-ended way possible.

Leave a Reply

