Easter Reflections.

Do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into His death? We were buried with Him therefore by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father we too might walk in newness of life.

– Romans 6:3-4

I spent Easter weekend with 40 of my youth at an Easter camp that happened here in New Zealand. It was pretty powerful. 4500 young people from all different churches and communities gathering together to celebrate the amazing story that is the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

On the Sunday night I took the opportunity to turn my attention away from the stage and look to the four rows occupied by my youth behind me, and what I saw blew me away and moved me to tears.

Arms lifted high in worship. Young boys praying for their leaders. Girls holding each other and praying fervently. My youth were even praying for youth from other churches!

Simply put it was a snapshot of the new life. A picture of God’s kingdom breaking through. Words cannot capture the immense beauty and joy I experienced in this moment.

And then I found myself somewhat fearful of the future. You see, in the future I will inevitably have to face some tough conversations as these youth get older. Conversations around dating, sex, drinking, partying and more…. LIFE questions to be exact. It took God all of 5 seconds to bring me away from the future fear and call me back to the present reality.

The revelation of NOW needs to be a powerful one in our lives. Through the death and resurrection, we walk in newness of life RIGHT HERE, RIGHT NOW. We need to love, lead and minister with passion, boldness and determination – every single day. We need to continually remind ourselves and those around us that the kingdom of God is AT HAND (Mark 1:15), and we need to live accessing it and praying for it at all times.

And I am confident that if I continually call my young people (and others that I spend my day with) to that NOW, God will take care of the future.

Jesus is risen. Risen indeed. And because of that we walk, we live, in newness of life right now.

Blessings.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Easter Reflections.

  1. justincherry says:

    Sounds like a great event. God is using you to do great things. Keep trusting Him & He will continue to make all things new. Encouraging blog bro!

  2. justincherry says:

    Sounds like a great weekend. God is using you to do awesome things. Keep trusting Him & He will continue to make all things new. Encouraging blog bro!

Leave a Reply

