Deeply humbled

I so regularly step over the line, flirting with being an insufferable know-it-all.

I talk regularly about theological issues as if I know everything.

So when my exam marks came back yesterday, I was thankful.

I didn’t do well.

It was a blessing. A deeply humbling reminder that I, at the tender age of 24, still have much learning and growing to do.

And it goes for all areas of my life. I am not perfect. I am not always living by the book. Not all my decisions are great ones. Sitting in this place, in recognition of my own imperfection, I think…. I really discover God. Well, God at least meets me there/here.

James 4:10 “Humble yourselves before the Lord, and He will exalt you”

The word humble there is translated to Greek as “Tapeinos” meaning to be of the ground, to make yourselves low as the dust, as the dirt. Now that is not to say that that we are dirty or rubbish, but rather it is like a churned soil. It is a state of the heart where we rest in acknowledgement of our own brokenness, hurt, misunderstanding, pride, and whatever else…

…It is almost as if we present a churned soil for the gardener to sow into – to plant seeds and bring life into being.

It is not our place to become perfect. But it is our place to let Jesus the perfect gardener plant life into our very hearts.

Blessings.

Leave a Reply

